Installing Orange in Ubuntu – 12.04

When it comes to installing a python – package in linux , most of the times you just need to do this.

sudo apt-get install python-package

or you could download an archive and go to the downloaded folder and do

python setup.py install

However I faced a lot of trouble while installing the python package Orange.I downloaded the nightly builds from this directory orange.biolab.si/download/orange-source-snapshot-hg-2012-09-24.zip and tried setup.py install. But it simply failed to install.

I also tried other stuff like going to the directory and doing

cd source
make

It terminated with the following statement .

make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.

After spending a bit of time googling , Google finally gave me an answer

1 . Install all dependencies

sudo apt-get install python-numpy
sudo apt-get install python-qt4
sudo apt-get install python-dev

2 . Add the following lines to your /etc/apt/sources.list file . This file gives you the sources from which you can download the packages.

sudo gedit /etc/apt/sources.list
deb http://orange.biolab.si/debian squeeze main
deb-src http://orange.biolab.si/debian squeeze main

3.Then do this

sudo aptitude install-orange canvas

4.Then go to your python shell and do

import orange

Congrats.Orange is now successfully installed in your computer.

Edit : If this doesnt work , then try


sudo apt-get update

sudo apt-get install orange-canvas

10 comments

  1. Thanks it works well.
    But how do you install the plugin orange-text on Ubuntu 12.04?

  2. Worked for me too. Likely saved a major amount of time. Thanks!

  3. Question: the “sudo apt-get install orange-canvas” installed version 2.0b. Any tips on getting the latest version of Orange to install?

    1. Oh I have no idea !

  4. Hi
    I have Ubuntu 12.04 on my dell laptop.

    (a) I tried to run “sudo aptitude install-orange canvas” command and I got below error
    Unknown command “install-orange.

    (b) Then I tried running “sudo apt-get install orange-canvas” and I got below error
    E: Unable to locate package orange-canvas

    Can you pls help me in this

    Thanks
    Sri

    1. Oh, been long since I had written this post, Did you make the changes to the /etc/apt/sources.list file?

  5. I think Now I have orange installed. I missed below step
    sudo apt-get update
    Thanks for your post.

  6. On Ubuntu 12.10 I managed to install from source with setuptools:
    easy_install numpy && easy_install orange.
    It took a while, but did everything automatically.

    1. Okay, I’ll edit my blog.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 236 other followers

